Immaculate Conception Seminary School of Theology

History of the Outing
Golf The Breslin Fund for Seminarian Aid was established in 1980 and bears the name of its founder, the late Honorable Roger W. Breslin Sr., in recognition of his many years of service to the Cornerstone Golf & Tennis Outing. Over the past 30 years, the outing has raised almost $1,000,000 enabling the Breslin Fund to provide for the needs of hundreds of seminarians. Needs financed include clothing, medical costs, emergency travel and many others.

In 2007, the outing has been renamed the Judge Roger W. Breslin Cornerstone Golf and Tennis Classic to honor the legacy of both Judge Roger Breslin and of Cornerstone. Cornerstone, established in June 1978 with 100 volunteers, sought to reach out and discover the needs of the people. The idea for the volunteer group originated through Martha Fornatale, Development Officer of Immaculate Conception Seminary School of Theology at Darlington, who posted notices in local church bulletins asking for assistance in the Seminary library. "The only pre-requisite being an open and willing heart," said Fornatale. Almost 30 years later Cornerstone still seeks those with an open and willing heart to support the needs of seminarians.

Past Honorees of Cornerstone Golf & Tennis Outing
2009 Alfred Frungillo
2008 Robert X. and Elain G. Robertazzi
2007 Reverend Robert Stagg 2
006 Monsignor Robert J. Fuhrman
2005 George Walter Connell
2004 William F. Koonz, Sr.
2003 Most Reverend Arthur J. Serratelli
2002 Kenneth F. Kunzman
2001 Breslin Family
2000 Richard Standing
1999 Walt & Peg Applin
1998 Monsignor Harrold Murray
1997 Richard & Susan Regan
1996 John W. Culligan
1995 James T. Fahey, Sr.
1994 Monsignor Harold P. Darcy
1993 Adrian M. "Bud" Foley
1992 Reverend Daniel Degnan
1991 Monsignor Thomas R. Petersen
1990 Monsignor Richard M. Liddy
1989 Monsignor James Turro
1988 Reverend George Reilly
1987 Monsignor John O'Brien
1986 Reverend Joseph Kukura
1985 Monsignor Edward Ciuba
1984 Honorable Roger W. Breslin, Sr.
1983 No Honoree
1982 No Honoree
1981 No Honoree
1980 No Honoree

Cornerstone Committee
The Cornerstone Committee is a group of men and women dedicated to the planning and conduct of the Seminary's annual Judge Roger W. Breslin Cornerstone Golf and Tennis Classic.

2009-10 Committee Roster
Walter Applin
Andrew J. Cevasco
Reverend Monsignor Robert Coleman
Douglas Colandrea
Richard Colandrea
Catherine A. Cunning
William H. Dibble
Bryan Felt
Janice A. Figenshu
Jamie Gacos
Samuel Giuliano
William F. Koonz, Sr.
Reverend Monsignor Thomas Nydegger
Charles J. Perruzzi, Sr.
Raymond D. Potter

About the Breslin Fund for Seminarians
The Breslin Fund for Seminarian Aid offers non-academic financial assistance to resident seminarians who experience financial need as they prepare for the priesthood at Immaculate Conception Seminary. The fund is supported annually by the Judge Roger W. Breslin Cornerstone Golf and Tennis Classic.

Consider supporting the Seminary today »

Sign In to PirateNet